On launching a book

Standard

I have decided that Two Lives will be sent out into the world with a party. The decision wasn’t as easy as it sounds. I’m an extravert who doesn’t like being the centre of attention, and a chronic self-doubter. Would people think I was up myself for having a launch? Is the book good enough to deserve one? What if no-one comes? Can’t I just put my head in the sand and hope it sells itself (or sinks into oblivion without too much shame for the author)?

Lots of people, and not just my family, said I should have a launch to mark the end of one kind of hard work – writing the darn thing – and the start of the next kind of hard work – marketing and publicity. So after weeks of humming and ha-ing, I have started getting organised.

It turns out that there are people out there who do these things all the time, and can help. Well, there’s a turn up for the books (excuse the pun, even though it was intended). I can do as little or as much of the work as I like. So I am taking the middle road.

Liz at Gleebooks in Glebe has been as helpful as helpful can be. She will do the setting up, introducing, general being-in-the-background-making-sure-everything-goes-smoothly, and I will turn up with wine and nibbles. My good friend and fellow author, Khyiah Angel (Fake Profile, Satalyte Press) has agreed to say a few words. I will read a snippet from the book, getting redder and more tongue-tied as I go, thank everyone for coming, and head for the wine. I won’t be able to eat because my throat will have closed up by then and my top lip will be firmly stuck to my teeth as always happens when I’m nervous. It’s quite a spectacle – you should come for that, if nothing else.

So here it is, your invitation to come to the launch of Two Lives. 6pm. 26th June 2015 at Gleebooks. RSVP to Gleebooks on 9660 2333. I’d love to see you there.

Leave a Reply

